Some people believe that the only purpose of films are entertain. But others say films should have educational value. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Certain individuals think the main aim of TV dramas is entertainment whereas the other outlook is that these programs educate. My opinion is that despite a semblance of truth in the second view, the first is more important. Both perspectives are discussed more below. First and foremost, it is more reasonable to believe that films are primarily meant to entertain. This must have been the main reason for inventing a TV set, for people to relax and laugh after long tiresome days. Also, a majority of the programs are inclined more towards comedy and action. For example, the SABC, South Africa's broadcasting house, announced in its yearly report last year that action movies accounted for 90 per cent of its viewership and 70 per cent of its annual revenue. On the other hand, however, other factors such as education feature promptly in debates about the influence of television content. This is because certain programs like news and cartoons, for instance, are both informational and educative, with consumers knowing and learning so much after watching. For example, my daughter learnt the English language after spending most of her infant years watching Pepper Pig; she desired and loved the cartoon. Nevertheless, while she picked up a language, I argue that this was just a side-effect of her consistent viewership, yet the primary purpose was to enjoy herself. In conclusion, therefore, I argue that whereas films have an educational value, as in the case of my daughter presented in the second paragraph, their essential purpose is to entertain viewers. I have justified this position in the essay above.