Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam’. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can government take to discourage people from using their cars? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Over the past 30 years, the ownership of cars has increased dramatically in major cities around the world which leads to traffic congestion. In my opinion, this statement is absolutely true. This essay will discuss the topic in detail and provide solutions that can be done by the government to stop people from using their cars. First and foremost, most people commute to work in their own cars and they do not prefer using public transport. This is due to the fact that buses and trains are often crowded and cause inconvenience to the community. Moreover, almost all the adults in a family own cars and often they use them to even go to the nearby shops. This sometimes causes heavy traffic jams in busy cities and may lead to other problems too. For example, people may be late to work or even an ambulance could not pass the road due to traffic congestion. Thus, an increased statistic of car ownership is a serious problem that needs to be solved soon or later. There are a number of workable measures that the government can take to reduce the usage of cars by the public. Firstly, the ministry can make several improvements to public transport. For instance, building additional waiting areas at the bus stations and increasing the number of journeys of the train could solve this issue. By doing this, the public will feel more convenient to use public transportation, thus, resulting in a decrease in car usage. Furthermore, other effective solutions that the authority can consider doing is that reducing the fees for public transport or applying occasional discounts to the tickets. To conclude, it is true that an incline in the number of car ownership caused serious traffic problems in many cities. Nevertheless, if the government take proper actions to discourage people from using their cars, this issue can be combated.