Some people opine that increasing office hours is a reason for many social and personal problems and that is why it should be reduced to 35 hours in a week. What are the advantages and disadvantages of reducing the working week to 35 hours?

Too many office workers all over the world suffer from physical and mental health problems because of overwork. There is a strong possibility that 35-hour workweek can reduce such impacts, increase productivity, and even save companies money. Nonetheless there could be downsides too. On the one hand, a shorter working week offers numerous potential advantages for both workforce and corporation. It might seem illogical, though working less can actually have a positive effect on efficiency. The reason is that healthier and happier employees are able to achieve better results, being more energetic and creative, wasting less time during the workday. As an illustration, the studies conducted at Google company have found improved output after four workdays week had been implemented. Likewise, work-life balance could become more realistic and reachable goal. Fewer working hours give more time for white collars to enjoy a company of their spouses, children and friends. It also allows them to devote more to activities outside office, including hobbies and sports. On the other hand, if performance of staff was already on a high level, reducing work hours would lead to losses in profits. Eventually, a decision to cut in hours will be followed by a corresponding cut in pay. Beyond doubt, employees will not be happy about it and the most talented and ambitious people will always be tending to change a company. For example, when Perekrestok retail company reduced workweek and salaries in 2019, lots of professionals decided to quit. It is worth mentioning, that some tasks, no matter how productive employees are, simply take a certain amount of time and manpower to be accomplished. Therefore, shortening of workweek can still have a negative impact on big projects, lengthening their duration. In conclusion, reducing the working week to 35 hours has both positive and negative aspects. Of course, work-life balance should be a priority for everybody, nevertheless, before implementing such changes all factors should be taken into account to have both sides satisfied and benefited.