Many people are optimistic about the 21st century and expect scientists to make positive changes to the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with their optimism? What changes do you like to see in your new century?

In this day and age, transformations in the 21st century have always been the topic of interest. It is claimed that people are optimistic and expect scientists to make the world enhance positively. While this thinking is valid to some extent, I consider myself as an advocate with their optimism and I would like to see the radical changes in the environment and medical fields in the novel century. Without a shadow of a doubt, health is the backbone of industry and one of the most surprising alterations of the world invented by scientists is the COVID-19 vaccines. While the COVID-19 pandemic has widely spread and made it life-threatening to people around the world, getting vaccinated is the most simple and optimal way in order to prevent the disease, minimise the risk of transmission and against COVID-19. For example, scientists invent a wealth of vaccines like AstraZeneca or Moderna and vaccination free for all Vietnamese and long-term residents in Vietnam act as a precursor in deteriorating a high death toll resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic. As a result, it is understandable that citizens are conducive to the alterations made by scientists in the upcoming century. Despite a wealth of outstanding changes by scientists in medicine, there are some alarming issues related to environmental pollution which is what I want to modify in the 21st century. Nowadays, the ceaseless pursuit for purchasing low-priced consumer goods has spawned a throw-away society where people tend to discard things despite their durability and usability. This leads to overloaded landfills and polluted water sources since those disposable find their way into the ocean. Raising the public's ecological awareness and changing lifestyle by buying only necessities or switching from single-use plastics to recycling containers can be cited as some convincing examples to handle these pressing issues. Therefore, it is time for researchers to move towards environmental security products and services, as well as come up with technology that recycles plastics more efficiently. In conclusion, although citizens believe in advantageous modifications made by scientists in healthcare of the 21st century, they should put more concentration on curbing environmental problems.