It will be better for society and individuals if driverless cars are widely used. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

The technological advancement in artificial intelligence is transforming the world. The use of self-driving cars will benefit humankind in the future. I completely agree with this notion as it will help reduce the number of accidents that occur and protect the environment from the pollution which is caused using carbon-based transport. Firstly, autonomous cars will decrease the number of traffic incidents on the road. Human beings are error-prone, and their decision making is sometimes muddled by what is happening in their life and surroundings. Such is not the case with self-driving automobiles as they rely on the data got from the different sensors that are used with algorithms to reach an outcome. In addition to this, factors such as exhaustion, stress and so on that impediment the ability of human beings to concentrate are non-existent in driverless cars. For example, one of my neighbours met with an accident on the same day he got dismissed from his job and he said it was due to the stress he was experiencing. Secondly, the vehicles running on fossil fuels emit a lot of harmful gases into the atmosphere. With the number of such vehicles increasing, these emissions lead to pollution. Such contamination of the environment leads to a lot of health hazards and will be detrimental in the future. Moreover, the effects of pollution cause global warming. In autonomous vehicles, this is avoided. Self-driving cars are powered by fuel cells. These fuel cells are recyclable and do not cause much harm to the environment. For instance, many countries are promoting driverless travel as it reduces pollution to a large extent. In conclusion, we see that driverless cars lead to lesser accidents and help in reducing pollution. It will help individuals and society in several ways. I completely agree as it not only helps the car owners to avoid fatal accidents as the decisions are taken by the automated machines but also prevents excessive contamination of environment as these vehicles use batteries which can be recycled.