The best way to solve the world's enviromental prolem is to increase the price of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Environmental pollution has become a major issue globally and one way to control it is to increase the prices of fossil fuels. This essay disagrees with the statement as increasing the price of natural resources directly increases the inflation of a country, and economic growth gets stunted,though such measure helps in arresting global warming. On one hand, increasing the price of petrol directly impacts the recession. Prices of goods and services go up leading to rising inflation as a result of which the economy weakens. Moreover,struggling economies of some countries will not be able to stabilise future growth as additional money will be spent on buying petrol from oil-rich countries. For example,India witnessed fluctuations in inflation when petrol and diesel rates were suddenly hiked,resulting in poor economic growth during the quarter-half of last year.An unstable economy is one reason why some nations are not able to become superpowers globally. On the other hand, pollution levels can be decreased by using alternate sources of energy.People,irrespective of cost,use vehicles for transportation. However,providing them with an alternate source like hybrid vehicles or solar-powered vehicles is the best way to meet the needs of people as well as protect the environment from pollution. For example,solar-powered vehicles are more in demand in developed nations of the world due to their cost-effective factor. To conclude,burning fossil fuels is one major cause of pollution globally.In my opinion, although one way to counter is to increase the rates of petrol and diesel, this measure directly impacts the economy leading to inflation and stunting the future growth of nations. This can be countered by introducing energy-conserving vehicles.