The key to solving environmental problems is for the present generation to sacrifice their convenient way of life for the sake of future generations. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

These days the environmental issue is at the top of the agenda. Some people suppose the only way to resolve it is to refuse from the present style of living in the interest of future generations. I’m devoting this essay to reasoning why this idea is not deprived of rationality. To start with, the natural aspiration of people is to leave posterity and therefore, to create the best conditions for surviving. This is why I suppose making changes is a logical, reasonable, and, what is especially important, inevitable development for an animal with the highest level of organisation that man is. For instance, so-called plastic pollution is an especially actual question. These days microplastic contains in drinking water, food and even air. According to Italian research, its pigmented particles were found in both fetal and maternal human placenta out. Despite the fact the exact health risk posed by plastic remains controversial and not yet fully understood, there are studies demonstrating undesirable influence upon the human endocrine system, provoked by such a plastic component as BPA (bisphenol A). If its impact is not overrated, humanity seems to be in big trouble. Besides, not only are the products of human activity toxic but, they also depend on finite resources. The present level of consumption is unsustainable due to the limitation of raw materials. For example, it is predicted that fossil fuels will have run out by the end of the century. Oil can last up to 50 years, natural gas up to 53 years. It follows that if the consumption and production do not reduce, the following generations will be left in the lurch. To sum up, in my belief, people of the 21st century must give up their comfortable lifestyle for the sake of progeny. As a Latin proverb says, ”Your progeny will collect the fruits of your labour”