Many elderly people are no longer looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

There is the trend that countless families choose private nursery establishments for caring for elderly relatives rather than fostering by themselves these days. Despite the fact that nursing places can provide professional health services to elders, there will still be some drawbacks. I will consider the pros and cons of opting and living in nursing homes. On the one hand, the core advantage of this trend is that care homes are professional and trusted service establishments for giving specific health care to the elders. For example, many elderly people need some specific medical services such as measuring blood pressure regularly, injecting prescribed shots, and so on. Thus, ordinary individuals can’t do these procedures, therefore, living in nursing organizations is beneficial for elders health. On the other hand, being isolated away from their families in the nursery homes is hard for their mental health, which is the main drawback of this. For instance, every person wants to live with family or closer people and spend time with their loved ones, but those people are not in the nursery homes, so it will always be difficult for any person because elders will spend their remaining time in these unknown places alone. Even though, their children and familiar people regularly visit them, living alone in a care home can’t be compared to the feeling of being together with family. To conclude, these kinds of organizations are always beneficial for their physical healthcare, in spite of living isolated from their loved ones. If anyone is considering opting for these services for looking after elders, then pros and cons should be compared seriously.