In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages.

In this modern era the usage of artificial intelligence technology is rapidly increasing. Predictions show that all vehicles are going to become driverless in the future with only passengers travelling inside them. In this essay, I will discuss both benefits and drawbacks of the same and provide necessary examples to support why the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. There are two drawbacks of driverless transportation systems from human resources usage standpoint. The primary one is that increased automation creates unemployment. There are 12% of the overall population leading their life, for example, as drivers in the public and private vehicles, who will lose their jobs. In addition to this, people are more comfortable commuting on their own as it involves a huge investment for people to buy an autonomous car. The driverless car costs around 5 crores approximately, for instance, Tesla that is invented by Elon Musk, cannot be afforded by many people, unless the cost comes down in the range of a middle-class citizen. The benefits of this trend are substantially high as it solves many problems in society. It decreases fatal accidents across the world that are caused because of human errors. The record of zero vehicle accidents by driverless trucks is a perfect example in the USA history over the last two years. Apart from this, the efficiency of the road transportation system improves tremendously as there are no human emotions to delay destination arrivals. The statistics of Japan vehicle transportation system, for example, has recorded an increased performance of 27% in the previous financial year. In conclusion, driverless vehicles are the future to serve passengers. While there are negligible disadvantages of this transformation, the advantages outweigh the drawbacks not only to improve the efficiency of public and private transportation but also to eradicate the accidents on roads because of the usage of an intelligent machine learning decision-making system.