Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person’s culture and character from their choice of clothes. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a view that a person’s culture and personality can be recognized from the attire they choose to wear. In my opinion, although clothes might tell few details about people, I totally disagree with this statement. To begin with, it is important to acknowledge that the phenomenon of globalization has affected many people around the world in their clothing selection. This is because there are now international clothing brands that are shipped all over the world. For example, in my country, the sporting clothes brand Nike sells the same products that are in stores in the United States. As a result, despite the significantly different cultural backgrounds, most people in both countries almost wear the same apparel and shoes. Secondly, I believe that clothes give little views and details about people. The reason for this is that there are some people are required to wear a specific type of clothes due to their work requirement. For instance, people who work in the banking sector are required to wear a formal dress code, and this does not mean necessarily that they are rich people. What is more, the colours of clothes can be sometimes confusing to many people to determine someone’s feelings. To illustrate this, if someone prefers to wear black-coloured clothes, many people would think that they are sad. In conclusion, there are many factors that affect clothes selection nowadays such as globalization that made most people can wear the same clothes and people who are required to wear certain clothes due to their work conditions. In my view, I believe that it is not possible to know about people ’s personality and culture from their choice of clothes.