It is a natural process for animal species to become extinct (e.g. dinosaur, dodo…) There is no reason why people should try to prevent this from happening. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Though these days the solution to environmental issues is at the top of the agenda, there is also an opinion that the loss of biodiversity is natural and inevitable. I am devoting this essay to explaining why I completely disagree with this idea and find it necessary to aim for the prevention of the mass disappearance of biological species. First of all, without a doubt, extinction is a completely natural process. But will man be able to adapt to the alterations that unavoidably stem from the ecosystem rearrangement? The truth is that every dramatic change entails a chain of other alterations. For example, in the 1950s the Chinese government organized the company currently known as sparrow extermination. Mass bird decimation led to an increase of pests population and finally, the fall of agriculture. Thus, extinction can significantly affect the whole human activity. Secondly, the present species are a result of perennial evolution and constitute a ground for future ones. Without their existence, the formation and development are impossible, and, as we already know, it can cause a number of problems. For instance, despite its conducive biological qualities, the notorious dodo will not ever give material for the future species, which can have an unfavourable influence on the entire ecosystem in perspective. To sum up, in my belief, the interpretation of bio loss as conforming to the laws of nature process is just an excuse for human ignorance and indifference, because extinction always has a large impact on other species, including humans.