A person's worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people argue that in modern society it has become more important what you own rather than what kind of person you are. In order to be recognized, individuals have to concentrate their attention on achieving financial success and could freely ignore spiritual values. I reckon that this position has flaws. In last several years, the public display of wealth has indeed become a common practice. The advance of Instagram and other social media platforms creates a convenient tool enabling such behaviour and encouraging people to share the best version of themselves with the rest of the world. Furthermore, movies and TV shows also tend to present successful characters as wealthy. Hence, the main characters frequently live in spacious apartments and drive nice cars. Those actions might make people think that it is important to be wealthy if you want to be respected the same way as social influencers and movie characters are. However, if the person's prosperity would be a decisive factor for public opinion, that opinion would not be swayed that easily by scandals and criminal accusations. For instance, when the #metoo movement started numerous careers were ruined by negative news and sometimes by mere suspects. Society has developed the whole cancelling culture, that apply that the community can cancel any public figure for unethical and inappropriate actions or words. To conclude, although it could look like many people want to establish a prosperous look in their social media as well as in movies and tv series, society still pay attention to each other behaviour and is ready to cancel those who violate shared moral rules.