Some people think that criminal behaviour has genetic causes. Others believe that it is circumstances that lead people to commit a crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Through the centuries, society debated the origins of criminal behaviour. Many people believe that the root of unlawful habits relies on genetic, physical characteristics. While others claim that crime is a behaviour that depends on the circumstances and background of the perpetrator. In this essay, I will thoroughly explore both viewpoints and provide my opinion. From antiquity to the present day, people assume that the misconduct it brings breaks social rules lies under the physical condition of the offender. Under those circumstances, minorities, people with some disability or without good looks were labelled as suspects or potential criminals. Recently, with genetic studies and DNA discovery, some researchers tried to find a correlation between law infringement and genetics. To date, no one has proven any one person's genetic propensity for crime. Although the failure of some genes can lead to mental disorders, for example, these problems still do not make a person a delinquent, not to mention that criminals do not necessarily have any mental issues, the reason why I do not support this viewpoint. On the other hand, we have theories that consider the background and social reach of those who commit some type of felony.  According to related studies, criminal behaviour is not an inherited trait, but actually a condition that might be practised by any person, independently of their ethnicity, disorder  or any  other physical attributes. Forthwith, exposure to crime, either by relatives or peers, have a person frustrated with  his or her social condition an option to commit delicts. Equally important, in scenarios of severe poverty and social instability, it is possible to see individuals of a wide variety of aspects committing some sort of law offence. Therefore, I support this perspective, because crime is an attitude that is learned rather than born.  In conclusion, I strongly believe that criminals are not determined to this type of conduct from birth. Instead, the social environment of a person can influence his or her choice to commit transgressions. For this reason, society and law enforcement officers must be educated to avoid any discrimination against individuals from ethnic minorities or those with a disability.