Nowadays television and the Internet have a greater influence on children's behaviour than their parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In modern society, television and the Internet have become accessible to everyone. It is often said that they have a great impact on children's behaviour compared to discipline from their parents. It is clear that although children might be affected by TV programmes in both positive and negative manners, parents need to educate their children on how to behave as their responsibility. The first aspect to point out is that there is a wide range of programmes on television and the Internet which has a great influence on children. For instance, there are educational channels that the youth learn about history or how to cook. This has a positive aspect in terms of building up their knowledge and skills outside of the school. On the other hand, there are also some shows that have negative impacts on the young such as documentary programmes. For example, there are some programmes that focus on a person who is addicted to drugs. If the young watched this TV show, they might be interested in drugs which has a negative influence on their attitude. However, the onus is on parents to discipline their own children as they spend most of the time at home. Although television and the Internet have positive aspects when it comes to educating the young, parents still need to supervise them and give them feedback in order to motivate them. If the youth had a curiosity about drugs, parents would be able to teach them that is unacceptable behaviour in society. To conclude, television and the Internet have a huge impact on shaping children's attitudes in both positive and negative manners. Therefore, parents may need to assist their children with which programmes they should watch. Adults are also responsible for educating the young on how to behave in modern society.