Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Advertisement is dominating the business world. Experts throughout the world have debated whether promotions motivate people to purchase things that are not essential for life whereas others believe that it helps us to improve our living standards. In my opinion, it has created a throw-away culture because of cheaper prices and mass production. This essay will explain my viewpoint with relevant examples. Firstly, we cannot deny the fact that we are living in a consumeristic culture. This is because products are offered at lower prices and people are significantly motivated to buy things in order to follow the latest trend as dictated by an advertisement. For instance, my friend who was using a Samsung mobile has replaced his gadget with iPhone 13 as soon as they launched because the apple version is quite familiar and everyone admires it. In addition, though the old product is still in usable condition, masses decide to replace it with a new device. Consequently, it creates waste and they are not analysing the purpose of a product when it is frequently advertised to increase the percentage of sales. Secondly, the products are manufactured in larger numbers so that everyone can afford them. It means to say that because of mass manufacturing, businesses tend to broadcast in order to attract buyers to increase their purchasing power. Furthermore, advertisement encourages everyone to use the same product as a means of fashion. For example, people started wearing jeans throughout the world and forgot their own traditional costumes. As a result, we are not maintaining our individual identities and being dominated by materialistic practices. To conclude, in my opinion, adverts have changed the buying behaviour of people by introducing cheap items due to massive production and made everyone follow the latest trend as it broadcasts.