Education for young people is important in many countries. However, some people think that the government should spend more money on education in adult population who cannot read and write. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Globally, educating the younger generation is more significant as compared to an illiterate adult. While many people hold the view that the government should invest its resources in educating older people, I vehemently disagree with that position. This essay will discuss the benefits of investing in the education of the younger population and the demerits of prioritising educating the adult. Firstly, if the state directs its resources on the youths it will yield tremendous fruits. This is because, at this age, they can give their best output in terms of their studies. These younger folks are not distracted by family or job-related stress and they mostly do their best in order to succeed academically whilst the adult in most cases would be occupied with family issues and they tend not to concentrate on their studies. To illustrate, my dad went to school at age 40, by then, he had my elder sibling and I and I can reminiscence that he used to leave school to take me to the clinic whenever I was ill. However, I am of the opinion that authority spending its monies on adult schooling will be a detriment to its economy. Moreover, the youths find it easier to learn and comprehend new skills and ideas whilst it is difficult if not impossible for grown-ups to cope with learning as it is said, "it is challenging for an old dog to be taught a new trick". For instance, when I was in grade 5, I had a classmate who was 28 years old and could not memorise the multiplication from 2 to 12. In that regard, I strongly believe that government should not use its resources to educate the uneducated grown-ups but instead utilise them for the education of the young. In conclusion, other jurisdictions prefer to empower their youths educationally than adults. Also, I do disagree with the views of several people that the government should embark on educating the adult. Despite there might be some truth in it, however, if the government did such a thing, in my estimation it will be a catastrophe for its nation.