the tourist industry has grown enormously over the last fifty years and there are few places which are unaffected by it. however, tourism rarely benefits the countries which tourist visit. to what extent do you agree or disagree

over the past decades the rate at which people tour has increased tremendously. most individuals visit different countries in pursuit of recreation, relaxation and pleasure. people argue that the destination places are of no advantages to such events. others also suggest that the pros of that activity outweigh the cons. I completely disagree with the opinion that tourism hardly benefits the destination countries. firstly, this activity increases the society's economy. although tourism is resource-intensive, most societies rely on it as their source of revenue and employment. for instance, Maldive in the Indian ocean relies on touristry as its largest industry. it is one of the most visited places in the world and a key driver to poverty reduction in the country. most foreigners who move to different lands to tour use either dollars or pounds. when they get to where they will land, they exchange their money for the local money. this helps the local government to get a lot of foreign money to purchase goods. to add to the first point, it creates employment. many hotels, restaurants and beaches hire a lot of workers due to the influx of tourists. moreover, this event also increases the infrastructures of a country. in most cases, areas where those people visit most have good roads, hospitals, schools and adequate water and electricity supply. however, although such exploration benefits both the government and individuals at those sites, consequently it has its own disadvantages. it could lead to air pollution, environmental pollution and also social crimes such as drunkenness, public sex and robbery. to summarise, many places rely on tourism as a source of revenue and employment. unfortunately, it could also be a source of problems if not managed well. further, I suggest that this event is helpful to both the government and destination areas and hence it must be well regulated.