Because of the global economy. Many goods including what we use as daily basics produced by other countries have to be transported for a long distance. To what extent do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In this modern era, various kinds of products, used in everyday life, are coming from abroad and be transferred for a long route. This essay will discuss both pros and cons of this issue and explain why the advantages do in fact outweigh the disadvantages. To begin with, looking at the advantages of overseas products, Firstly, one of the main positives is a cheap price. To illustrate, wages in some countries are extremely high, so entrepreneurs change their manufacturing countries to those with lower wages. China is one of the great examples, and due to the low cost of production, customers can get a high-quality product at a cheaper price. Secondly, the global economy can create job opportunities especially in developing countries, individuals will get a job position, they will be able to earn a living. Consequently, this can lead to the growth of economies in various countries, as well as the whole world economies. On the contrary, the drawbacks of this issue can be identified, to start with, the waiting time is one of the problems of the overseas goods, they have to travel for a long way, most of the products are transported via ship due to its low-cost transportation, thus, it may take a period of time normally for a week or a month. Moreover, if some accidents happen on the transportation route, there will be no chance that the customer will receive the products on time. For instance, the Suez Canal was blocked for six days after the grounding of the giant ship. This situation affected the economy in a deteriorate way, in other words, many manufacturers lost a large amount of money from this accident. In conclusion, time of transportation and accident are some of the drawbacks, however, lower prices and more job opportunities for the citizens could outweigh the negative aspects.