Recent research suggests that the majority of criminals who are sent to prison commit crimes after they are released. Why is this the case? What can be done to solve this problem?

In recent decades, many law offenders that had been sent to prison break the law again after they are released. This essay will explain the reasons for this situation and suggest some methods to solve the problem. On the one hand, there are two reasons for this phenomenon. The main reason is that they cannot find jobs after they come back into society. Many companies reject hiring people with criminal records as they believe that they are dishonest and violent, this causes many ex-lawbreakers cannot find jobs and thus do not have enough money to purchase necessities. As a result, they may choose to steal or rob other people's things in order to get more money. Another reason is that they feel like they are abandoned by society. Sometimes the offenders are not accepted by their own families and society because they think it is a shame for their families and cities. This makes prisoners being abandoned and ignored. This leads to hopelessness and they may try to commit crimes again in order to get others attention. On the other hand, there are two ways to tackle the problem. Firstly, the government can provide more job opportunities for released criminals. For instance, they can encourage companies to hire them by providing subsidies. Released offenders can receive income and they can afford their own livings, so they will not steal or rob. Moreover, the government can provide some psychotherapy to prisoners. When they feel depressed because they are not accepted by family or friends, therapists can encourage them to think positively and be more optimistic. Therefore, they will not draw others attention by committing crimes. To conclude, although there are a few factors that encourage criminals to commit crimes again, the government can help the ex-criminals so as to prevent them from breaking the law again.