Our personalities are predetermined as a result of our genes before we are born and there is nothing that can be done to change our character traits. To what extent do you agree?

Genes play an important role in shaping our personalities but they are not the only factor. Our environment, in which we are living and grown-up, also decides different aspects of personality. In my opinion, some traits are inherited while nature and nurture are also crucial factors in personality development. Every day, we meet people having different characteristics, for instance, some people are friendly, happy, kind-hearted, extroverted, energetic while some are reserved, sad, aggressive, introverted etc. All these are personality traits, which comes from multiple genes. Moreover, genetics decides the way we behave. In addition to that, if scientists want to know about the behaviour of the previous generation of a particular family, they study the genes of the current generation. On the other hand, our surroundings and environment also determine different traits of personality and people's behaviour also change depending upon the environment they are living in. For instance, the study was done on 300 pairs of twins, living together and apart. The study showed that some characters of the twins were the same irrespective of wherever they were living, whereas some traits were different depending on the surroundings they had. In conclusion, some traits of the personality are inherited however, we can also modify one behaviour by respective nurturing. The environment has great effects on people's behaviour. It can make them a good or a bad person.