Some people believe that it is best to accept a bad situation, such as an unsatisfactory job or shortage of money. Others argue that it is better to try and improve such situations. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

We are faced with different kinds of positions in life and some of them are challenging. There are views that if we come to an unfortunate condition, we should accept it. Others, in contrast, suggest acting and improving for better circumstances in such events is preferable. This essay will discuss both sides of the viewpoints and share my own perspective on this matter. To accept bad situations is not to give up but it is to be grateful for what has been given. We are less likely to be stressed out thinking about the things we do not have. Indonesia, for example, has a higher happiness index despite the smaller amount of income per capita if compared to Singapore. Another thing to highlight is that tight situations can lead to criminal actions. When people accept their conditions, it is unlikely that people to be greedy and act negatively upon unmeet demand. These are the advantages of being acceptable to unfortunate conditions. Another choice to respond to tough situations is to make efforts and change them. This is the view that I support. There are benefits of this approach such as building a positive mindset. Michael Jordan, one of the best basketball players in the world, for instance, has stated that he became successful because he focuses on getting up from the failures and do not surrender. Another merit to mention is that we can strengthen our character in terms of being perseverance because we choose to continuously try to get the best out of any condition. In conclusion, how we act upon unfortunate events can be varied with the option to do nothing or fight for change. The positive side of acceptance can make us humble, which is important to have, however, I believe that we should try our best to make the change as it gives us a positive mindset and forms good behaviour.