Environmental problems are caused by technological development. Some people say that the solution to these problems is for everyone to lead a simpler way of life while others say that technology can solve these problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Matters concerning environmental conservation has been the topic of the day in most countries. It is believed by some that environmental degradation results from technological advancements. While a good number of individuals think that simple lifestyle practices can be a solution, others feel that environmental problems can be resolved by technology. I am in support of the idea that technology may help solve some environmental issues. To begin with, simple lifestyle practices may help conserve the environment. For instance, most citizens may decide to use public transport to motor vehicles and motorcycles which may help lower the number of harmful gases being emitted into the air. Moreover, others may decide to recycle household equipment and supplies such as bottles for storage purposes which may lower greatly hips of litter lying around. On the other hand, we have those in society who uphold that technology can assist in resolving environmental problems. Technology has come a long way in reducing waste disposal to the environment. For example, plastic materials and other waste containers can be refined in factories and used for other purposes. This greatly leads to declining environmental pollution. In my opinion, although leading a simpler way of life may to some extend solve environmental problems, I believe that technology plays a bigger role in ensuring a healthy environment. This has been achieved by the various technological advances that have played a big role in the recycling industries hence minimizing environmental pollution.