In some countries, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Many young generations are taught to believe that everything can be achieved if they put enough effort into it. However, while this belief can keep children motivated and strengthen their self-esteem, it can also make them feel burnt out and waste their time. One of the most significant advantages is that it can strengthen children’s self-esteem. Some kids, for example, lack self-belief and have a mindset that they are incapable to succeed in anything. However, if the kids adhere to this particular way of thinking, they will focus more on putting an effort and hold on to the thought that, eventually, they will be able to do it. This can help them to gain trust in their own ability and give a rise in their self-belief. Another positive is that it will encourage them to stay motivated. After some time of trying hard and not seeing any positive results, they might lose their hope and become demotivated. This teaching, however, can light up their hope by reminding them that everything is possible; therefore, it will help them to keep going and never give up easily. On the other hand, there are also disadvantages to this particular teaching. Firstly, this can easily cause them to feel burnt out, especially when they need to constantly work hard towards their goals. Although working hard to become successful is important, putting too much effort can drain people out. If this stage is prolonged, it often leads to extreme stress and mental instability for an individual. The next downside is that it can lead to some children wasting their time if the goals they set are not practical or possible. Take a toddler who wants to drive a truck as an example. Although he or she might be able to drive a truck in the future, trying so hard to achieve such an unrealistic goal at the wrong time will lead to time -wasting. Therefore, this mindset might not be suitable for every situation. To conclude, while making the young generation believe everything is achievable as long as they try hard can keep them motivated and flourish their self-esteem, it can also lead to a burnt-out stage and a waste of time. Therefore, children should be taught this mindset in a very careful way.