What could be done to encourage people to buy local products? An increasing number of people are buying what they need online. What are the advantages and disadvantages for both individuals and companies to shopping online?

Recently, shopping online or e-commerce seems to be expanding in society because a vast number of people are using it to purchase what they need. The advantages and disadvantages of shopping online in both customer’s view and company’s view will be discussed as below. Primarily from the customer perspective, the significant advantage is that shopping online is very convenient which saves a lot of time, money, and effort. For example, customers can just be in the comfort of their home or workplace and order the products they want. They don’t need to make a trip to the shopping malls for every single purchase. However, there are a few disadvantages to e-commerce, such as potential fraud. The security of payment is still a questionable issue in internet shopping, and once overlooked, identity and bank information can leak out through fake transactions. Furthermore, to test or to see the products in close proximity is not possible over the internet, which can increase the possibility of product returns. Secondly from the company’s view, the positive outcome of e-commerce is saving cost. The company does not need the retail stores to show up their products; as a result, the payment of rental areas for shopping stores will decrease. Furthermore, the massive number of products can be kept in a huge storage area that can easily manage and spread to consumers. By contrast, there is still a disadvantage of online purchase. The competition among various chains tends to happen greatly, and causes smaller companies, which have low potentials to increase their sales, cannot operate their business and finally close the companies. In conclusion, the increase of purchasing online affects both customers and companies. And, it is inevitable that local products are still essential to the local economy that can generate some revenue to local people. A suggestion to encourage people to buy more local products could be a government campaign which may either reduce tax for locally made products or increase tax for international ones.