In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing, Does this trend have positive or negative effects on society?

Some people believe that the high percentage of the elderly people in certain countries has positive impacts on the growth of the society, however, others stated that the increased level of old generations would cause many disadvantages. I believe the number of the old communities would bring about both merits and demerits. On the one hand, a country’s economic growth can be attributed to the high level of income generated by young workers and technology utilization. The elderly people ’s level of involvement in these two factors is significantly low, because of their age and their health conditions, they neither work in a productive state nor become intellectual in technology uses. A prime example of this is the difference between my grandfather and I in terms of the amount of time taken to be competent in computers. Generally, to excel in using Microsoft Word and successfully type a page worth of words, it would take me a day to complete, while my granddad can only type a sentence at a much slower pace and with painstaking effort. Therefore, the elderly people can not compete with the later generation in the understanding and the utilization of high-tech devices, hindering their contribution to the society as a whole. On the other hand, older people possess an arguably higher amount of life experiences and knowledge, thanks to their many years of working and dealing with different social circumstances so that they can teach the younger generations a thing or two. For example, there are many successful businessmen with a deep understanding of their chosen expertise such as Warren Buffet or Bill Gates. Therefore, when they retired they became wise advisors to many start-ups and entrepreneurs, in order to give detailed instructions and advice based on their experiences so that these new businesses would incur lower risks and higher profits. In conclusion, it has to be admitted that the higher figures of the older people have adversely affected workforces and technology uses, which are critical factors contributing towards a nation’ development in today’s era. However, there is no denying that their existing wisdom and experiences can be tremendously transferred to the younger generation, who can learn from the experiences and thrive better.