In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In many countries, especially the eastern ones, children believe that if they bring the best of themselves and never lose their hopes, they will attain everything they want in their lives since that is what adults tell them. This belief has both pros and cons, as we can see in the discussion below. On the one hand, it helps children to have a positive attitude to face obstacles and can underpin patience and resilience, which are crucial factors to success in their future. People may have different starting points; however, they can reach the same destination with reasonable efforts. For example, an athlete will never get his or her best performer without continuous training and practising, even if he or she was born talented. On the other hand, everyone has their strengths and weaknesses. It is understandable that some may be excellent at this sector and may not meet standards in others at the same time. If people push their children harshly to their limitations, it may lead to unwanted consequences such as a lack of confidence, being overwhelmed, and even easy surrendering. In Vietnam, for instance, there is a well-known quote that says never judge a fish by its ability to climb. This quote accurately describes what will happen to children when they keep trying to do things out of their reach. In conclusion, children should try as hard as possible in doing things. However, they need to learn about their strengths and weaknesses to optimize their knowledge and time. That way, they could achieve a successful and happy life.