At present, the media affects people’s lives significantly. What impact does this have on society? Is it a negative or positive development?

Different strokes for different folks. In the tech-savvy era, it is irrefutable fact that humankind has increased tremendously and the current era is enriched with new innovations. Nowadays, media has a significant impact on the lives of people. It is definitely a negative development because most of the communities are influenced by media and due to this they are stuck in various problems. This essay shall intend to delve into this issue and will elaborate on my perspective in the upcoming paragraphs. To begin with, despite the fact that media plays an imperative role in everyone’s life. It attracts the people and they end up buying expensive things which are redundant. To explain it, there are a plethora of advertisements related to renowned brands on TV as well as on social media. In addition to this, these ads are performed by popular actor/actress and their impact on youngsters are more and they want to do the same as their favourite ones. For instance, a recent study at Oxford University revealed that in India, 40% of children throw their old phones and purchase new iPhones which they do not afford. In this way, they face a financial crisis. Moreover, the masses are getting into debt and due to overspending, they face financial issues. To explicate it, some communities in order to show that they are wealthy people they take a loan and issue credit cards from the bank and buy a car on loan and do shopping on credit effortlessly. But when they do not fulfil the requirements of the bank then results in a financial crisis. To illustrate, recent research at Cambridge College showed that 75% of middle-class men in India owe money from the bank and purchase many expensive products and now facing major financial problems. In conclusion, I strongly opine that media affects people’s lives very badly as it forces society to buy those products which are unnecessary. So, it is recommended that this should be followed in an organized way so that everyone should have access to it.