Some people think parents should supervise their children's activities closely, while others believe children should have more freedom. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

parents should take control of their offspring closely, others believe children should be given more freedom. I’m going to discuss these opposing points of view. In my opinion, parents should not monitor their offspring too closely but are always willing to support them whenever their children need them. On the one hand, it is argued that parents ’ supervision of their young is important and necessary. The main reason is that kids are unable to protect themselves in some potentially dangerous situations. It is also possible to say that they are not mature and knowledgeable enough to keep themself away from dangers that are present everywhere around them. For iexample, a child may not know a bowl of boiling soup on the table is hot and can cause burning. They possibly put their fingers into the bowl and get a burn. Another reason is nowadays there is an increasing issue of children kidnapping crime. For example, when a child is playing in the park without his parents ’ supervision, some criminals can approach the child and allure him with sweets or something, and then kidnap the child. The criminals do that just because they want to take ransom from the child ’s parents or they may sell the poor child overseas. Therefore, if the parents always keep an eye on their children ’s activities, it will be safer for the kids. On the other hand, it is strongly believed by others that children should have more freedom to do almost whatever they want. People often have this opinion because they think the best way to learn everything is from both bad and good experiences that would help children grow independently and wisely. A second point is that freedom would encourage and enhance a child ’s creativity, problem-solving skills and sense of responsibility. For example, when a child is playing with his peers in the playground, and sometimes there is a quarrel with other kids. If the parents do not intervene in the kids ’ business, the child will learn how to communicate, and negotiate to get what he wants. He may be a loser, but at least after that, he can learn to control his negative feelings. In conclusion, it is commonly thought that parents should supervise their children carefully; meanwhile, others assume that parents should give their children more freedom to develop naturally and independently. Personally, I tend to believe that parents should let their kids grow up naturally and learn new things with genuine curiosity about the world and sometimes deal with certain harsh situations so that they can develop various life skills.