What distinguishes today young people from their parents' or grandparents' generation is a lack of physical exercise. Today's generation are spending far too long playing computer games, chatting aimlessly on social networking sites or simply watching TV, and too little time being active. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The differences between the youth and older generation, have always been a controversial issue in society. One of the many aspects is health, or rather, the absence of it. The young population nowadays are suffering from disorders like obesity and diabetes, and the majority are blaming the pandemic for inadequate physical activities. This phenomenon is caused by newer entertainment methods such as computer games and increased usage of social media. However, I believe that these are not the main factors contributing to the inactivity issues. Some traits of modern life, in my opinion, lead to an unhealthy patterns, which will be discussed in the following essay. Apart from pure laziness, it is noteworthy that recent schedules of adults have never been more compressed. In recent times, a new office culture, the gruelling 9-9-0, has risen among the youth in nations. The numbers 9-9-0 correlate with working from 9 A.M to 9 P.M with zero days off. A good example is the IT industry, where companies have a bad reputation for imposing continuous overtime to meet stringent deadlines. They demand that employees are contactable 24/7. As companies focus on increasing their profit margins, many employees are forced to work nonstop, and thus are deprived of opportunities for exercising and improving their physical and mental health. Society is risking their own well-being in order to satisfy the demands of stakeholders. This has led to many detrimental effects on society, one being a significant increase in suicide rates in nations such as Japan or Korea. Apart from labour time, accommodation plays an important role in an inactive lifestyle. The replacement of fitness centres, parks and natural forests with skyscrapers and luxurious housing has a detrimental effect on the public in terms of their accessibility to areas designated for exercising and socializing. In gymnasiums, individuals have access to specific machinery for different muscle training purposes. For example, the bench press is the most effective device for toning the pectoralis muscle and chest muscles. Without these devices, citizens have to do their exercises at home, which can lead to various issues ranging from aching joints to torn muscles. Another disadvantage of dismantling parks and fitness accommodations is the lack of motivation for training. Nobody can exercise effectively while being surrounded by grey concrete buildings. Research on buildings and greenery have revealed interesting results. Humans are less likely to work out when living in monotonous cities. Therefore, city planners should not demolish parks and fitness centres instead incorporate these accommodations into the population's lifestyle to build a healthy and functional society. Personally, the idea of accusing the youth of pure laziness and virtual entertainment is incorrect as there are various factors that contribute towards a lazy lifestyle. People, especially the youngsters work long hours and have no access to gyms and nature, which will severely affect their exercising habits. One possible remedial measure is for the government to enforce a limited number of work hours and to construct more parks. In conclusion, apart from being distracted by entertainment, the young generation faces higher peer pressure than the older generation. The best plausible method a governing body can utilize is to promote a healthy work -life balance and to build more gyms and parks.