People in many countries are spending less time with their families. What are the reasons, and effects of this?

In many parts of the world, it is true that a growing number of people are inappropriately allocating time with their families. This essay will discuss some obvious reasons for this trend, and its impact on today’s families. Firstly, due to the fast pace of life in modern times, almost everyone must be occupied with hectic work schedules. Working for long hours means they do not have time to come home, which is a precursor to losing the balance between quality family time and work. For instance, many employees have to work more than 10 hours a day, they need to endeavor to work harder than anyone else to meet the deadlines. Secondly, nowadays a great number of people go to another metropolis or country to work or study. This stems from globalization that they have to live far away from their families and are only able to return to their hometown once or twice a year. These aforementioned issues have detrimental effects on both individuals themselves and their families. For one, the bonds between family members might be weakened. For example, many parents do not spend time with their children which can lead to further the distance between family members and children are not receiving adequate attention and guidance from parents. Therefore, they are likely to be vulnerable to toxic influences and follow a path towards criminal behaviors. In addition, those who work or study away from home might feel lonely and isolated and this might negatively affect their productivity or academic performance in the long run. In conclusion, people spend much more time away from their families due to the onset of globalization and their heavy work -lives. This development will make them suffer from not only psychological but also emotional stress.