In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Evidence suggests that eating an excessive amount of fast- food cause health problems in some nations. Some people argue that higher tax on these kinds of foods should be imposed by authorities. However, I completely disagree with the given statement because of some reasons which will be discussed in detail. Firstly, increasing tax on fast meals has more impact only on certain income groups. To begin with, just poor families will not affordable to purchase fast food. Simply put, a high percentage of people in society are in middle and affluent groups who are still able to pay more money to buy foods such as pizza, burgers and french-fries to follow their desire so that this solution is less likely to be effective to decline consumption of fast- food and junk food. As a result, the state should aware people about the drawbacks of these fast prepared dishes and provide healthy foods for them at lower cost. Secondly, due to hectic lifestyle individuals prefer to eat fast food. In fact, this is more convenient and faster rather than other foods and families might purchase it even with the growth in tax. Therefore, this has a straight effect on people’s income. Take a person who is addicted to fast food as an example, there is no matter for them to spend more money on it without paying attention to the price. Hence government should boost the quality of fast- food products and make them healthier instead of increasing taxes. In conclusion, I believe although intake more fast- food trigger health disease, implementing tax on these kinds of foods is not workable as this rule just targets poverty-stricken families and fail to prevent individuals from buying and eating it due to quick preparation and their appetite.