Food travels thousands of miles from farmers to consumers. Some people think that it would be better for our environment and economy if people consumed locally produced foods. What is your opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant example from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays consumers can buy food that has been produced thousands of miles away. It is advocated by some people that it is less harmful for environment and more profitable for economics to consume locally produced foods. I can partially agree with this point of view, considering that access to global distribution markets urge producers to increase manufacture exploiting more and more natural resources and thus destroying the nature. From the other side, large parts of the planet are not suitable for efficient agriculture due to climate reasons, hence, importing products is the only possible way to ensure a wider range of choices for habitants. From one hand, northern regions and even whole countries experience shortage of sunny days and an annual temperature there is not enough for successful and cost-effective cultivation of fruits, vegetables and cattle. Evidently, the import of foods from warmer places is essential to provide a rich assortment for a decent price. For example, greenhouse planting may multiply costs of vegetables in comparison with growing them in open fields. From other hand, an overuse of most productive lands in order to feed the whole planet actually causes an enormous damage for environment. Namely, extensive farming activities result in soil degradation and pesticide poisoning of water. For instance, the mass production of palm oil in Malaysia and Indonesia has already led to serious deforestation and loss of flora and fauna. In this regard International environmental organizations sound the alarm and call for ban on using of palm oil. To conclude, food transportation from far away sometimes might be the best option to guarantee a wide range of foodstuff for cold regions. Nonetheless, it must not be forgotten that environmental issues cannot be ignored and should be at the top of the global agenda of mankind.