In some places, young people find it difficult to communicate with older people. Why is this? What are the solutions?

It is said that communication is one of the most important aspects of understanding each other. However, there is a concern in some places that the young tend to find it difficult to communicate with the elderly. Despite having this issue due to the modern lifestyle, there are some solutions. The first aspect to point out is that our communication skills are significantly impacted by the modern lifestyle. There are more nuclear families compared to in the past, thus, children may not know what their grandparents are interested in. As a result, the youths may not know how to interact with the elderly in society. However, there are some solutions for this social trend. Firstly, the extended family system could be encouraged by the government. It is a fact that the ageing population is one of the most concerns in the world and there are not enough facilities for the elderly. For example, if the government supported families, grandparents would be able to live their own family, which would also help the young to understand how to communicate with the elderly. Another important issue is that it is also schools' responsibility to solve this social issue. For instance, schools could provide the students with an opportunity to visit nursing homes. The youths will have a significant role in society in the future. Therefore, they need to learn effective interaction skills when they are young. To conclude, the modern lifestyle has a huge impact on skills in communication among people, especially the young when it comes to interacting with the elderly. There is no doubt that there are some solutions for this trend at the government and schools levels. If this concern is taken seriously, the interaction will be more lively no matter what generations are.