Psychologists have known for many years that colour can affect how people feel. For this reason, attention should be given to colour schemes when decorating places such as offices and hospitals. How true is this statement? How far does colour influence people’s health and capacity for work?

It has been scientifically proven that different colours and shades bring about tremendous influences on people’s emotions. As a result, different service provisions and facilities require to be decorated in multiple colours in order to specifically serve their purposes. This statement is completely accurate as colours can be beneficial in several aspects in terms of people’s work performance and wellbeing. The importance of choosing a right colour panel is reflected when people walk into a facility as selected tones provide different feelings, in sync with the service it offers. A prime example for this is the decoration of dentist clinics, which are often painted in blue and white. These two colours are applied to hospital workplaces, indicating that the service offers a clean, sanitised and hygienic environment while the colour of blue helps boost a sense of hope for patients and workers alike. As a result, it is totally true that facilities are painted in specific sets of colours for their own reasons. Colour schemes also proved to improve workers’ performance and wellbeing to a great extent. Google corporation, for instance, is infamous for having colourful offices with rainbow-like equipment. Managers and employees from the firm are permitted to wear casual clothes instead of basic work outfits with neutral tones. Therefore, the efficiency in working in such a lively environment has been recorded to significantly increase as well as unleashes their creativity better. Working in a multicolour facility would energise workers and positively encourage them to be more productive. In conclusion, it is undeniable that colour selection in different services is crucial to both workers and customers. Each colour can send different messages and as a matter of fact, it creates a massive change in human emotions.