In order to be successful in sport, some people think you have to be physically strong. Others say that mental strength is more important. What is your opinion?

It is argued that physical strength is more crucial than mental strength when it comes to accomplishment in any sport. While fitness is the fundamental requirement for athletes to participate in games, I believe that mental strength is the competitive edge for them in order to succeed in their careers. On the one hand, being physically powerful can yield two discrete benefits. Boosting the ability to perform well is the first one. Most sports require immense stamina and endurance, especially under harsh weather conditions. Hence, without physical ability, individuals will find it difficult to be consistent with their performance. Take football for example, players need to have physical toughness so that they can run for long periods of hours in order to score and win the match. In addition, being fit means that athletes have appealing physiques, which can be used to supplement their income. For instance, they can earn money by participating in advertisements with many sportswear brands or becoming ambassadors. To strengthen that statement, a recent survey reveals that more than 50% of athletes’ salaries are from commercials/ads. On the other hand, having mental strength is arguably more beneficial for two reasons. If a person has mental stability, he can endure the pressure while remaining calm, and possibly overcome his limitations. Take chess for example, it is obvious that if one player is more anxious than another, the former will be more likely to go through turbulent thinking, which consequently, will negatively affect their moves, despite their physical strengths. Furthermore, the larger the mental capability is, the higher the level of intellectual ability will be. As a result, athletes with this advantage can develop competitive traits such as planning their diets or scheduling their training logically. Therefore, they can outperform their foes who do not have intellectual capacity easier and more effortlessly. In conclusion, to join any sport, one needs to have physical strength; however, to be successful at it, mental strength is a crucial element that people should pay more attention to.