Some people think that it is beneficial for children to do paid work, while others think that it can be harmful for children. What are the advantages and disadvantages of children doing paid work?

Although paid work is thought by some to be a useful experience for offspring, other people consider that it can be detrimental. Children can learn about earning money from doing a paid task, whereas, there are also some issues. Doing paid work is advantageous for children in several ways. To begin with, one benefit of children doing paid employment is that they understand the value of salary and how to income it. This also teaches them not to waste money as they realize the work or effort needed to earn it. Furthermore, working teaches children responsibility and independence which will be useful to them later in life. For instance, having a job is a responsibility itself, because you need to finish your work in order to be paid off. On the other hand, one problem is that the time children spend working prevents them from focusing on their school work. Having a good education is the key to a successful future, so being employed as a child can result in poor academic performance which can be harmful in the long run. Another possible issue when children have a job, the company use them as slave labour. For example, in some developing countries children are made to work full time, but due to their age are not protected by law. As a result, they are paid negligible wages for their work. In conclusion, while children can benefit from paid work, it is important to consider its drawbacks/negative consequences also such as poor academic performance.