Write about the following topic: Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There can be various reasons for a language to be extinct. Some people believe that it would be better if there are fewer languages in the world so people will live a better life. In my point of view, it is a tragedy if a language dies out. Firstly, every language holds a piece of the past and culture as a medium. For instance, Oroqen people’s language doesn’t have text, and they inherit their story and knowledge through stories from word-of-mouth. Their language is part of the memoir which contains a part of how human beings were developed in such an area. The loss of a language is the damage of resources that we can gain experience from. Secondly, fewer languages will not lead to an easier life. For example, let’s imagine a world with only one language. Different accents in different regions will result in a different custom of language using which will finally lead to several new languages. The obstacle of understanding a completely different accent will not be easier to overcome than understanding a new language. The idea of using the same language globally has already been dreamed of but failed in the end. So, it’s impractical to attempt to achieve a single- language world. In conclusion, the dying of a language is a passing of cultural treasure and will not make our life easier. Also, saving these languages as we can is a serious task for us to save history. Both making them still alive and recording them to make a fossil are possible and practical efforts to save a language.