Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel or to work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Although some people believed that acquiring a new language is a must just in case of travelling or working overseas, others think that learning another language has many purposes and it does not limit to leisure and job opportunity in foreign countries. I certainly belongs to latter group. In the one hand, due to the growth of globalization, there are a lot of multinational companies which acquire international employees. It means that nowadays there are more job opportunities all around the world. Therefore, many workforce are tending to learn international languages such as English, Spanish and French. Furthermore, thanks to technological advances in transportation industry, travelling is more convenience rather than the past therefore, more people have tendency to travel abroad and this trend is increasing. Knowing another language especially international languages help people to discover many countries independently, without any need to tour leaders and travel agencies. On the other hand, there are a lot of benefits in acquiring a foreign language which it beyond the leisure and job. For instance, many books, magazines, movies and researches are published in English or have English subtitles and English edition. Therefore, If you know English, you could benefit from them and there is no need to use translated ones. Even the most accurate translation might change the original meaning. Moreover, during the process of learning a foreign language people immerse themselves in the culture. For example, they know about the peoples, custom, opinion, literature and religion of that region. As a result, mutual understanding will increase between nations. In Conclusion, although for some learning a language is limited to visit different countries and international job opportunity, for others it has wide range of benefits which broaden their minds. I strongly believed that learning a foreign language goes far beyond the travelling or employment. It is an immersing in a new culture.