"Prevention is better than cure". Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventive measures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is a view that preventive measures in medicine are more important than researching and treating. Although the first ones definitely should exist, prevention is not better than cure. This essay will discuss to what extent I personally disagree with the provided statement. Firstly, let's consider one of the most essential sides of modern healthcare, namely, therapy. It is a well-known fact that if one's case is serious, they will be treated by intensive therapy after diagnosing. For example, although we can prevent many deathly diseases like cancer, we also must know how to fight it by conducting additional researches and applying prospective methods. Eventually, even if we know how to avoid some diseases, we still have to act immediately when someone is ill and things are getting worse. Secondly, we need to review how the recent studies impacted existing trends in healthcare. We can see how long we can live and do not suffer from illnesses thanks to the constant improvement of medicine, therefore, we can not state that it is too costly, that just makes no sense. For instance, laboratory studies helped people to fight diabetes, bacterial infections, cancer and AIDS. So we should invest in that even if sometimes it can lead to some additional expenditures. In conclusion, I would like to say that I disagree with the given statement to the highest extent because studies, laboratory work and researches in modern medicine are necessary and just informing people about the danger does not really work.