Unhealthy eating has a negative effect on both individuals and the society in which they live. Some people think that the government should tax unhealthy foods while others believe that a ‘fat tax’ is unfair and unnecessary. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Increasing preference towards fast food is the leading cause of unhealthy nations.Few are of the opinion that imposing taxation on transfat cuisine discourage the public from buying it,while others believe that the public like to eat irrespective of the additional cost. This essay will discuss both views including my opinion on the positive benefits of additional taxation. To begin with,fast food culture is one of the leading causes of systemic illness in the people,leading to an increased burden on the healthcare of a society. Taxation by the authorities will discourage citizens from spending on unhealthy food.Even if they spend,they make sure to buy in small quantities. Moreover, the revenue generated from the tax can be used to create awareness among people about the bad effects of consuming unhealthy food on the organs of the body. For instance,recently to curb the increasing number of obese cases in the city,local authorities imposed taxes,which proved successful in deterring people from buying it. Therefore,imposing taxes is one way to wake people up from bad dietary habits. On the other hand,increased taxes will not deter fast food lovers.They consume it irrespective of the cost and is not a feasible solution in the long run. Additionally,high taxes may result in the losses of these businesses,who are forced to wind up their operations affecting the revenue for local government. For example,a recent survey by Deccan Chronicle showed that the government was running on a deficit budget due to the winding up of fast- food restaurants.These are the reasons why critics feel that taxation is not a viable solution. To conclude,fast- food culture is a health hazard for modern society. Although people prefer to eat it irrespective of the cost; however,in my opinion,increased taxes will discourage people from buying it in large quantities.