Do you agree that the advantages cars bring outweigh the disadvantages?

The usage of vehicles like cars has increased recently. One of the controversial issues relates to whether if the benefits of cars overcome the drawbacks. In this essay, I am going to discuss both views and demonstrate my opinion. On the one hand, there are two common disadvantages of cars that some people believe. Firstly, they can cause air pollution due to the the huge number of them. This happens because cars burn a lot of fuel oil and this burning cause fumes that accumulate in the air which result in pulmonary diseases such as asthma and lung cancer. Secondly, depending mainly on cars leads to a loss of fitness and this is because of the limitation of activities people do every day. As a result, this makes limit in calories burnt which consequently cause weight gain. On the other hand, others have a belief prioritises the advantages of cars and this is because of some reasons. The first reason is saving time. People now travel without thinking of the distance and this results in completing more tasks in a short period of time. the second reason is that the level of welfare and comfort in cars is higher than in public transport. For instance, these vehicles have wider seats that are made from leather which gives a sense of satisfaction. In conclusion, although there are negatives of cars such as pollution and they can cause health problems, I strongly believe the positives such as comfortable chairs and the time that can be saved are more crucial.