High stakes English language tests, such as IELTS, are increasingly being delivered on the computer.Do the advantages of computer-based testing outweigh the disadvantages?Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your know

Recently, the mode of taking English language tests including IELTS on computer has increased dramatically. Although some people believe that the benefits of doing it on this machine outweighs its ramifications, however, it disadvantages superceeds the advantages. This essay will discuss the reasons why the demerits exceed their merits. To start with, several educated elites can not operate computer effectively which might be as a result of poverty or some other causes. Notwithstanding the fact that some may argue that in this day and age many people can afford it, there are however, millions of people who cannot afford it and therefore do not know how to type and save their names on it. For instance, a final year student was told to submit his dissertation via his email, he could not because he cannot afford to buy it. In light of the aforesaid, that student will never pass IELTS delivered on computer. Also, there are several students, employers and employees, who even though they are computer literates but find it difficult if not impossible, to effectively use this device. For example, some of the employees at the Ministry of labour in 2005 complained that they had serious challenges in typing their monthly reports on the computer. If it is challenging for learned employees to type their reports, how can they successfully write their English language test? To conclude, nowadays, the pattern of conducting English language tests such as IELTS on computer is common which is more disadvantageous to the students writing the tests.