Some people believe studying in a college or university is the best way to prepare for a successful career. Other people prefer to get a job as soon as they leave school and to develop their career through work experience. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some hold that formal education offers little to attain professional success, while others believe that the value of education in career success is undervalued. The way I see it, pursuing education offers more than just the soft skills you need to perform well in a job and equips one more fully to attain job success. It is certainly true that an early job gives a person an edge over his peers. In such a job a person is able to attain financial self-sufficiency early on and devote more time to enhancing the job related-competencies by, for instance, working with highly qualified professionals, taking skill-specific courses and attending different professional seminars. However, the option of having access to all of these is not readily available. Alternatively, young people who go through formal stages of education build a theoretical framework and a strong network of professional friends. This framework is important to join certain professions that require high levels of training such as doctors, lawyers and engineers not to mention professions in which one has to create, for example, historians and physicists. Additionally, the value of the network that one builds while at college is hard to overestimate. It is no secret that professional success very often depends on how quickly and well you can accomplish certain tasks, tasks that become notably easier if you have connections in certain jobs or industries. To conclude, while first -hand, hands-on experience is invaluable, it is unrealistic for young people to pursue under all circumstances, and college offers more than the soft know-how and basic competencies, it does so at the additional benefit of building a network of “useful” friends.