Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is claimed that children who make their own choices are likely to develop into selfish individuals. While it might be true in some cases, I tend to agree with others, believing that allowing them the freedom to decide on their own matters is more desirable. Those people who argue that the free choice of children tends to encourage egocentrism might be under the impression that all youngsters only make decisions to satisfy their needs irrespective of the possible detrimental impact of their decisions. It is true that for adults who have been getting used to achieving Change the form of the verb achieve show examples the desired results of their choices throughout their childhood and adolescence, they would possibly be intoxicated by this experience of obtaining whatever they desire and prioritise their needs over others'. This is probably why some corrupted government officers embezzle public funds and take bribes at the expense of the public interest. The argument goes that these selfish individuals could have veered away from their path to crime if they were restricted from making up their own minds. The truth is that there is no necessary correlation between being egocentric and having a say in one’s own matters and I would argue that individuals should be offered opportunities to practice making appropriate decisions from an early age. Individualists are normally those who have neither empathy for others nor moral judgement about right or wrong. It seems to me that their selfishness is contributed to by their upbringing rather than the permit given to make choices. Furthermore, for the young to be responsible and capable citizens in a society, they need to be equipped with the ability to distinguish good and evil and resist the temptation to opt for an illegitimate option and such ability can only be acquired when they practice applying their outlook and values into deciding their deeds with the guidance from their parents and teachers. In conclusion, although the existence of egocentric members of a society can be partially attributed to their childhood experience of being allowed to choose what they prefer, I believe that the prominent reason is their upbringing and that allowing children the autonomy to settle on an option using their moral judgement developed through proper education is likely to avoid cultivating more individualists.