Some people think that good health is very important to every person, so medical services should not be run by profit-making companies. Do the advantages of private health care outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, people are suffering from various types of diseases than in the past. Hence, some health care organizations see it as a business opportunity and try to make more profit. However, I believe that making more profit using people's diseases is unethical. This essay will discuss reasons for having more disadvantages than advantages when health care organizations consider only their income. First and foremost, medical centres should receive a payment in order to maintain their facilities and pay the wages to employees. For instance, they have to pay for electricity, building rent and doctors salaries. Therefore, owners of these facilities ask for payment from patients by providing various types of services such as doctor consultation fees, MRI testing. Besides, medical centres must maintain their equipment and buy novel machines to provide a better service to their patients. As an example, high-end X-Ray machines. Nonetheless, some are trying to make unnecessary profits out of this. To illustrate, when a patient visits a private hospital to get a consultation, the doctor influences him to do different types of testing from the hospital to make more income. In addition to that, some drug manufacturers trying to sell their products with a huge profit margin. As an example, during COVID 19 pandemic situation, a drug importer in Sri Lanka earn huge revenue by selling PCR kits with an unethical profit margin. Hence, the government should regulate those things by introducing a code of ethics to people who work in the health care industry. To conclude, health care organizations should earn money to cover their expenses. Even so, they must not make an unacceptable profit from it since their first priority must be to provide honest service to the patients. Hence, my opinion is there are more demerits than merits when a health care organization is run as a profit -making company.