In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting University studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of your people who decide to do this

In some countries, students are been encouraged to take a gap of a year from their academic career, either to travel or work to gain experience. In my opinion, such practice has some pros as well as cons which will be discussed in the forthcoming paragraphs. To begin with, there are numerous advantages for which pupils opt to take a break from their study before University. Firstly, some teenagers prefer to work this free period. Not only does it lead to real-life experiences but even boost their career interest in reputable universities. For instance, according to a survey carried out by Harvard University, 75% of the students agreed that it was easy for them to choose a specific course after they worked in their pause year. Furthermore, from a social point of view, youths who travelled during their time off to learn new customs and cultures, consequently, broaden their horizons. On a personal level, similar breaks help young ones develop independence and self-confidence. On the other hand, in spite of plus points, one cannot ignore the negatives in regards to discontinuity of studies for a stipulated period of time. If a juvenile starts earning a handsome amount of money, he will lose interest to come back to academics and can also lose the opportunity to earn a higher income. For example, a teenager opening his own business without further qualification may have lesser chances to diversify his business due to a lack of enough knowledge. Moreover, some employers do not show interest to hire candidates who have a breach in their education. To conclude, bearing in mind the above information and deliberating all facts, it can be deduced that although there are benefits to taking a break in education, an adolescent ought to not ignore the drawbacks as it may pose a problem in the future.