A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not well-managed. What are the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world? Do you think that the benefits of tourism outweight its drawbacks?

Although holidaymakers contribute hugely to the economy in many popular destinations, the influx of tourists can also cause serious issues. This essay will demonstrate how tourism can transform the economy of poor local areas but will also show that this can lead to a marked increase in crime. Whilst acknowledging that there are many drawbacks, this essay will argue that the advantages of tourist business outweigh the disadvantages. One of the main advantages of this is the number of jobs that tourist corporation creates for local people. Many hotels, restaurants, shops and other facilities are provided employment for many residents. A good example of a country that is taking full advantage of the booming tourist industry is Thailand. Regions that were once dominated by poor fishing villages are now full of thriving holiday resorts. With everyone now having a job, the general standard of living has greatly increased. The economic boost of the local areas has also had an important impact on the national economy which is growing year on year, largely due to tourism. However, an increase in tourism can lead to more serious issues. One of the most serious is an escalation in the local crime rate. This is a particular problem in many holiday destinations such as Bali, where illegal drug-taking as well as the excessive consumption of alcohol, which leads to unruly behaviour, are an important part of the holiday experience for many visitors. These affected areas that were once quiet coastal towns and villages with very little crime, now require a large number of police presence to tackle these problems. In conclusion, even though mass tourism can sometimes result in a rise in criminal activity, it effectively improves the lives of many local folks. Hence, the positive effects of the development of the tourist industry definitely outweigh the drawbacks.