Today many buildings such as offices and schools have an open-plan design (no walls between areas for different activities) instead of separate rooms. Why is this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Over time, open-plan design has become popular among many organisations such as schools and offices. This trend is mainly due to the benefits on both physical appearance of the offices and also staff ’s motivation. In fact, I believe this is a positive development for two main reasons. The first reason why many buildings start to use more open-plan design is that it makes the building looks more spacious, lighter, cheaper and easier to design. Unlike normal design that requires many walls to separate each room, this new design has no walls which help to improve lighting within the office. Moreover, it also makes the room looks spacious and allows the air to flow thoroughly. Another reason is that it often keeps staff or students to stay motivated. Being able to see other colleges or roommates working or studying will create peer pressure that helps motivate people to work hard and stay focused. When people, for example, have their own place, they might find it is easy to get distracted whereas if they feel that other staff members are watching, they will be unlikely to waste their time doing something that is not work-related. I believe this trend is a positive development for two reasons. Firstly, it creates a sense of equality in the office. In the past, most senior executives usually had their own office whereas junior staff had to work in the same room. As a result, this can create an undesirable perception of hierarchy in the workplace. Therefore, being to work together in the same place can help to generate a sense of equality among the staff as everyone uses the same space regardless of their titles. The next reason is that the open-plan layout is relatively better for the environment since it requires less amount of material to build. Moreover, the open space allows natural light to travel within the area effectively, as result, less electricity will be consumed. To conclude, the open-plan design has become more common as it improves the working environment and generates motivation for employees. Moreover, not only does it create a sense of equality in the workplace, it is also better for the environment. Therefore, I believe this is a positive development.