Some employers involve their emoplyees in their decision-making process. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

These days employees are helping their companies in key decision-making operations, which definitely leads to various pros and cons. This essay will consider both of them and explain why I firmly believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. The main negative side of this trend is that it might delay the overall decision-making practice and create conflicts between the management and the workers. First, coming to an agreement is quite time-consuming, since it can take loads of time to collect information from various departments and further process it. Furthermore, if the perspectives significantly vary then it would be genuinely challenging to strike a balance and reach the most informed decision, which, if not appropriate, may result in undesirable outcomes. For example, technology companies reduced the budget of key laboratories after collecting opinions on R&D investment plans for the next decade, which may lead to dissatisfaction or even a collective exodus of the core R&D team. Turning to the positive side, however, this method could boost employees' engagement and productivity. Firstly, if doing so, employees can proactively consider their company's opportunities and challenges and provide valuable inputs on crucial activities, thus strengthening their bond with the management committee and becoming deeply committed. Secondly, once they know the object of the company, they will be more productive in solving problems and reaching the targeted goal. For instance, Google involves its all workers to offer their ideas and suggestions in product design and launch decisions, hence not only making them more autonomous and creative but also contributing to its long-term vitality and success. In conclusion, although involving a large number of people in a key decision procedure is a daunting task, it has extremely positive outcomes on the employee's engagement with the corporation and contribution towards collective success. Consequently, I believe that these benefits outweigh the drawbacks.