Extreme sports such as sky diving and skiing are very dangerous and should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

The interest in extreme sports has been rising among proactive adults and those who are challenge-driven. However, these sports may incur risks because of their levels of difficulty. Although some people argue that extreme sports should be prohibited, I completely disagree in the sense that there are already regulations in place as well as it is people’s right to participate in these activities. Firstly, while it is true that extreme sports provide a higher chance of causing injuries, they also require participants to be adequately equipped with safety gears. These requirements ensure individuals are well aware of the danger that such kinds of play may bring to their physical bodies. For instance, skiing lovers need to wear helmets and glasses to protect themselves from being hit by the ice while sliding down the hill. Additionally, children are also equipped with knee and ankle pads in case they fall into hard surfaces. As a result, the protection rules substantially mitigate the potential risks for players. Another reason why extreme sports should not be banned is that it is a human right to choose one’s favourite kind of activity. There are some people who prefer to choose a more dangerous sport rather than an ubiquitous one as they understand their capabilities. Indeed, although skydiving is an extreme sport, there are professional skydivers who can earn a significantly high income from their chosen activity. In short, when individuals choose an extreme sport to experience, they are already well aware and understand its risks. To conclude, whereas dangerous sports may seemingly bring about serious injuries, I believe that they should not be banned because these activities always have protection terms to provide a higher sense of safety for players and people’s own preferences should not be restricted. Instead, organisers should make sure that every participant must adhere to the safety rules in order to curb potential hazards.